Repurposing Mind Maps

September 16, 2009


As mentioned in previous posts, I feel very strongly about the benefits of using mind maps.  They a great for taking notes, creating project plans, ideation, brainstorming, and other tasks where you need to connect unstructured information.  Where I think they get useful is when you start revising them and restructuring them to show new linkages and connections.

After a mind map is created, you can always add to it.  If I create one to take notes about a site, I may think of something that needs to be added later.  In addition to making minor revisions or additions to my mind maps, I usually convert them to an electronic format.  I primarily use Microsoft PowerPoint or Visio.  When it is electronic I can manipulate it easier which is where I get some of the really benefits.  A site analysis mind map will almost always be drawn with first level bubbles representing areas.  The subsequent bubbles note or expand on site features in the corresponding area.  When my initial mind map is complete and in PowerPoint or Visio, I frequently make a copy of it on another slide or sheet and revise the diagram to show another point of view.  I might revise it to put items in priority groups or revise it to show groups of similar issues, problems, opportunities, etc.  These types of changes are usually very fast and easy since it is electronic.  If the mind map is not too big you can also simply build a new one from scratch showing the different point of view.

Another technique that is again easy and quick is to color code the bubbles on the original mind map.  You could use green, yellow, red shading for example to represent a priority sequence.  Another example would be to color code problem areas and opportunity areas differently.  Within PowerPoint or Visio it is quick to use the format paint button to duplicate the color or other effect you are using.

You may sometimes have a need to combine two or more mind maps.  For example, putting the mind maps for site analysis and client needs into one mind map may be very useful from the standpoint of looking at the similarities and connections of data.  In these cases I find it is usually a judgment call as to whether it is easier to start from scratch or to cut and paste items from the two originals into a new mind map.

I have mentioned in previous posts that there is specialized software just for mind maps.  A list of packages can be found on Wikipedia [http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_mind_mapping_software].  There may be advantages to some of these packages in the different automatic formatting and layout options they provide.  In most cases I find that PowerPoint or Visio are more than adequate.

The point is to look at the information from different points of view and perspectives to analyze all the aspects of the site, client, or whatever you are reviewing.

Leave a comment